Living English Episode 13: What are you doing tomorrow?

Pubblicato il da camy

Living-English

Living English: The 42-part series looks at the English language used in everyday situations such as checking into a hotel or describing people.
Episode 13: Steve makes a date with Anne.
STEVE is nervously fiddling with the phone. He starts ringing, then puts it down, then rings again.
At the hotel, the CLERK answers the phone.

CLERK
Medina Hotel. Marie speaking. How may I help you?

STEVE
Can I speak to Ms Anne Lee, please? I’m not sure what room she’s in.
The CLERK puts the call through.

CLERK
I’ll put you through sir.
In her room, ANNE is looking through some wine catalogues. The PHONE rings.

ANNE
Hello?

STEVE
Hello. Anne? This is Steve Parker.

ANNE
(puzzled)
Steve Parker?

STEVE
Steve… Sarah’s brother. We met…

ANNE
(surprised, but pleased)
Oh, Steve! Hello Steve.

STEVE
Hi. What are you doing?

ANNE
Oh, working. I’m planning a trip to the wineries later in the week.

STEVE
Oh. When are you going?

ANNE
Ah,Wednesday.

STEVE
Oh, good. What are you doing tomorrow?

ANNE
Nothing. Why?

STEVE
Well I have the day off, and I was just wondering… well I was just wondering whether you wanted to go to a wildlife park… with me. You said you’d like to go to the zoo.

ANNE
That’s right, I did. Yes, thankyou Steve, I’d love to go.

STEVE
Alright! I’ll meet you in the foyer. Ten o’clock?

ANNE
Okay, ten. I’ll see you then.

STEVE
Great! Goodnight Anne.

ANNE
Goodnight Steve.
She hangs up, pleased.

Episode 13 – Notes
  1. TELEPHONE REQUESTS
  To be able to speak to the person we want on the phone we sometimes have to make a request.
Can I speak to the manager please?
Could I speak to the manager please?
May I speak to the manager please?
  If you want to be less formal, you can say talk to instead of speak to
Can I talk to the manager please?
  When making a request it’s best to say please.
Can I speak to the manager please?
  We say can or could before I when making requests.
Can I speak to the manager please?
Could I speak to the manger please?
  May is more formal.
May I speak to the manager please?
  STEVE
Can I speak to Ms Anne Lee, please?
   
  2. TAKING TELEPHONE CALLS
  When taking phone calls for a business, it’s best to say what the name of the business is, so the person knows if they’ve got the right number.
  CLERK
Medina Hotel. Marie speaking. How may I help you? 
  You then tell the person your name:
  CLERK
Medina Hotel. Marie speaking. How may I help you? 
  And then ask if you can help:
  CLERK
Medina Hotel. Marie speaking. How may I help you?
  May is quite formal. You can also say can.
Medina hotel. Marie speaking. How can I help you?
   
  3. TELEPHONE NUMBERS
  We can use the words double and triple when telling someone a phone number.
  For example, this number – 8366279 – is said like this:
Eight, three, double six, two, seven, nine.

 

When there are two numbers together (8366279) we say double. In this case, double six.

  When there are three numbers together we can say triple
8377742
Eight, three, triple seven, four, two
   
  4. MAKING A DATE
  These are some common things we say when making a date.
  We start by asking:
What are you doing tomorrow?
  STEVE
What are you doing tomorrow?
  Of course, we can use any time, such as:
What are you doing on the weekend?
What are you doing tonight?
  If the person you are asking isn’t doing anything at that time you can say:
I’d like to go to a movie with you.
or
I’d like you to come to dinner.
or
I was wondering whether you wanted to go to a movie.
or
I was wondering if you’d like to come to dinner.
  STEVE 
Well I have the day off, and I was just wondering… well I was just wondering whether you wanted to go to a wildlife park… with me.
   
  5. PRESENT CONTINUOUS
  The -ing form of verbs is used for talking about things happening now and for a short time into the future.
I’m writing my assignment today.
  This tense is called the present continuous because it refers to the present as something that continues or keeps going.
He’s working hard. (he works hard now and will for a short time in the future)
She’s driving fast. (she drives fast now and keeps driving fast)
It’s raining outside. (rain is falling and will keep falling for a while)
  STEVE
Hi. What are you doing?

 

ANNE
Oh, working. I’m planning a trip to the wineries later in the week.

  All these (write, work, drive, rain) are action verbs. They are things we do.
Only these sorts of verbs have present continuous tenses.
Some verbs, such as understand and know are not used with the -ing form of the present continuous.
  We say
I understand you
not
I’m understanding you. X
And
I know
not
I’m knowing. X

 

Con tag LIVING ENGLISH

Per essere informato degli ultimi articoli, iscriviti: