English at Work 60 – Stepping aside

Pubblicato il da camy

English-at-WorkIn this episode of the English at Work: Language related to getting the sack.

The team from Tip Top Trading has been having a smashing time at the launch of its plastic aubergine. Tom threw one at Dave from the IT department, but it missed him and went through a window! It’s time for Paul to hand out some harsh words but he’s about to hear some words he won’t like.

Language related to getting the sack:

This week’s programme focuses on the language you may hear to do with people losing their job – or getting the sack.

Phrases from the programme:

I’ve been doing a strategic review of the company.

I need to downsize.

I need you to step aside.

The company needs new direction and more dynamic leadership.

You are surplus to requirement.

Narrator: Hello again and welcome back to English at Work. Last time we heard the team from Tip Top Trading having a smashing time at the launch of its plastic aubergine. Tom threw one at Dave from the IT department, but it missed him and went through a window! It’s time for Paul to hand out some harsh words.
(Door shuts)
Paul: That behaviour just isn’t on.
Tom: Sorry Paul… but it was quite funny wasn’t it?
Paul: No it wasn’t.
Anna: Sorry Paul, Tom was just angry with Dave. I thought he liked me but we saw him with Julie from accounts.
Paul: Really? He seemed such a decent chap… anyway, don’t do it again. OK? In the meantime, you’re going to have to pay for that broken window.
Tom: What… hey? Bbbut…
(Phone rings)
Paul: Now, excuse me, I need to take this. (Answers phone) Hello, Paul Smith speaking. Ah, Mr Socrates… yes… ah, you’ve heard…
Tom: (Whispering) Crikey, come on we’d better go.
(Door shuts)
Denise: That was a good shot Tom! Looks like it’s made an impact on Dave. Look, he’s sent Anna some flowers.
Anna: Oh there’s a note on it. It says “You can count on me” but no name.
Denise: That is a strange thing for him to write.
Anna: Hmm, it is and it’s not his handwriting.
Tom: Maybe a secret admirer eh? I wonder who it could be?
(Door opens)
Denise: Are you OK Paul? You look as white as a sheet.
Paul: I’m not actually. Mr Socrates says he’s having a strategic review.
Anna: A what?
Narrator: He means he’s been looking at how the business is operating and how it should operate in the future.
Anna: That sounds serious.
Paul: And as part of his review, he says he wants to downsize and he’s asked me to… step aside.
Anna: Why? What are you in the way of?
Narrator: No Anna. To step aside is a polite way of saying to leave your position in the company.
Anna: Oh. I don’t understand Paul. Why?
Paul: He says the company needs new direction and more dynamic leadership.
Tom: Crumbs Paul, you can’t get more dynamic than you! (sniggers).
Anna: Tom! But Paul, you’ve been a great boss.
Paul: Thanks Anna. I guess it’s the economic climate, we’re not making enough money so cutting staff is inevitable.
Tom: Yeah but you cut Denise’s job.
Paul: Yes but we had to get her back because she was necessary for the smooth running of the department.
Denise: That’s right.
Paul: But Mr Socrates says I’m ‘surplus to requirement’.
Anna: Oh, that doesn’t sound good… does it?
Narrator: If Paul’s job is ‘surplus to requirement’, it means his input to the business is no longer needed. So it’s not good news.
Paul: Anyway Anna, Mr Socrates wants to know if you got his special message?
Anna: Special message? The flowers!?
Denise: That’s strange. Why is Mr Socrates sending you flowers?
Narrator: It is a bit strange. Anyway, Paul’s news has come as a shock for everyone. Here are some of the phrases Mr Socrates used to break the bad news:
I’ve been doing a strategic review of the company.
I need to downsize.
I need you to step aside.
The company needs a new direction and more dynamic leadership.
You are surplus to requirement.
Anna: Right, I’m going to have to call Mr Socrates and find out why he’s sent me flowers.
(Anna phones Mr Socrates)
Mr Socrates: Socrates… who wants me?
Anna: Erm… hello Mr Socrates… it’s Anna here, in London.
Mr Socrates: Anna! My favourite girl. Please call me Brad. So glad you called.
Anna: I needed to speak to you about the flowers you sent me. I’m very flattered but I don’t think…
Mr Socrates: The flowers?! Sorry honey, I haven’t sent you any flowers but I have sent you an email – have you read it yet?
Anna: No. What did it say?
Mr Socrates: I was saying that as I’m giving Paul the chop, would you like a promotion?
Anna: A promotion?
Mr Socrates: Yes. You have been an outstanding member of the team so how would you like to be the new manager of Tip Top Trading’s London office?
Narrator: What a fantastic opportunity and one that Anna surely can’t refuse – or can she? And who did send Anna those flowers with a message saying “You can count on me”? Find out what her answer is in the next English at Work. Bye.


Per essere informato degli ultimi articoli, iscriviti: